Skip to main content

Averitt Awards for Excellence in Graduate Research and Instruction

Averiit Award Crystal Eagle Trophy
The Averitt Award is the highest honor bestowed upon graduate students within the Jack N. Averitt College of Graduate Studies. Through nominations from each department’s graduate program faculty, two semi-finalists will be chosen by the Graduate Program’s Director/Coordinator, one from each category (Excellence in Research and Excellence in Instruction). The Averitt Award will consist of two separate $1,000 cash prizes and a Crystal Eagle trophy. This trophy has been specially designed for the award and
clearly denotes the name of the awardee and the classification of the award (Excellence in Research or Excellence in Instruction).



2016 Averitt Award Winner: Heidi Moye – Excellence in Research – Anastatia Sims (Faculty Advisor)


2016 Averitt Award Winner: Martin Muinos – Excellence in Research – Dr. Valentin Soloiu (Faculty Advisor)


2016 Averitt Award Winner: Desiree Riley – Excellence in Instruction – Julia Griffin (Faculty Advisor)


Previous Award Winners

To learn more about the College’s first Averitt Award recipients,
please read the press release.

Year Student Name Department
2016 Heidi Moye MA History
2016 Martin Muinos MSAE
2016 Desiree Riley MA English
2015 Joshua Holloway MA Mathematics
2015 Zachary Dietrich PhD Psychology
2014 Aaron Roberts MA English
2014 Cameron Cato MSAE – Electrical Engineering
2013 Lauren Deaner MS Biology
2013 Amit Arora PhD Logistics
2012 Carl Nicholas “Nick” Keiser Biology
2012 Johnathan Craig Martin Psychology
2011 Tomas Condon Biology
2011 Drew Keane English

Last updated: 1/19/2017